I’m finally back on the road.  This time I’m posted up on top of the Mogollon Rim, right near the General George Crook trail.  The history books tell us it was constructed under the direction of General George Crook in the early 1870’s as a supply/tactical road joining Fort Whipple to Fort Apache a couple hundred miles apart.  This route is still visible today, in many parts, and I’m sitting right next to it.

Every morning I walk the trail with my coffee and dogs, and as I do, my mind whooshes back in time to when this trail was a well-traveled thoroughfare.  The “Wild West” was in full swing and the Civil War was still fresh in everyone’s mind.  Arizona had just recently become a territory and was, by all accounts, still a very primitive landscape.

It’s easy to romanticize the era of the cowboy, even if it only lasted a couple of decades.  But the truth was that life was still very hard back then, especially in a region so remote.  The Apaches were on the warpath.  This was, in part, why General Crook was even in the area, to subdue the restless natives.

I am about half way through a book about the original colonies right now.  By the end of the 19th century most of the native peoples in the east were already subjugated.  But not in Arizona.  In fact, “The Apache Wars” were just getting started.

20170511_172657Anyway, I’m here in my camp right next to the trail.  I’ve got a commanding view of the foothills below.  Every now and then a car drives by, but for the most part I’m out here alone.  I wanted to post up closer to the AZT, but I’m also bound by the need for a good mobile signal.

Camping in a travel trailer is really different from the camping I used to do.  In fact, I almost don’t consider this “camping”, rather it’s “staying in a trailer in the middle of nowhere”.  I don’t know why I have this bias toward RV camping, it’s not really fair.  Most of my camping in the past was while backpacking.  Even when I “car camped” I still had a tent.

Also, I’m so close to the the rim road that if I’d passed by this camp back then I’d most likely think to myself “why even come out here if you’re going to be that luxurious and close to the road”?  Heck, I might take my tent and sleeping bag a mile or so into the woods just so I can pretend to be in a remote area.

Until then, I’m going to sit here in my “office” and roast weenies over a fire.

